Village / Country Walk (3km - 40mins)
Heading North on Park Street past the Public School, Museum & Fire Station you come to Redmond Oval, the Anglican & Catholic Churches and local Cemetery. John Lister’s grave is in the cemetery and there is a rewarding view to Mt Canobolas from the top of the cemetery.
Richards Lane to the left takes you around to the North Western corner of the Village to Crowson Street, the Great Western Mill site by the railway line and up Victoria Street to the Grand Western Lodge and Pym Street shops. Just a few more metres and you’re back by beautiful Rosebank and the Post Office start point.
1. Millthorpe Public School and Residence
This School replaced a small gum slab building located on the edge of town. In 1872, the Council of Education chose this present site for a new school. In 1875 a combined school and residence was constructed for 1,080 pounds. On the 3rd January 1876, this unique bluestone building was completed. The School Teacher, Mr William Webb and his family were the first to occupy the residence.
2. Golden Memories Museum
The Good Templars Hall was built in 1881 as a meeting place for the Good Templars Society. It was built from public money collected in the local district. It has been a public meeting place for local Lodges, concerts, dances, wedding receptions, court house, Church hall and now a Museum. Note the front of this imposing building with its carved barge board, double door entrance and blind windows.
The St Joseph’s School was built in 1922 at a cost of 943 pounds. It closed in November 1969 ending 47 years of religious and academic instruction. It was purchased by the Historical Society in 1970 and became known as the Pioneers Gallery exhibition area.
Make a special visit to view the six exhibition buildings on the history of Millthorpe.
3. Redmond Oval, Rotunda, Memorial Wall
Redmond Oval was dedicated on the 16th October 1958 and named after Daniel Redmond – an outstanding citizen of Millthorpe. He was a lover of sports and highly involved in local organisations.
Take time to inspect the Memorial Wall and Entrance Gates commemorating Millthorpe and District citizens involved in all conflicts since the Sudan War (1885). Inspect the Rotunda which was a favourite venue for the Millthorpe Band. Take advantage of all the other wonderful facilities in this Park, such as the Children’s Playground, Skate/BMX Park, Free Gas BBQ’s, Public Toilets, Tennis Courts and Cricket Nets.
4. St Mark’s Anglican Church (Old and New)
The first St Mark’s Anglican Church (behind the present Church) was built in 1878 in a Romanesque style. Unique aspects of this structure are its brick work, distinctive arch over two round-headed windows and a rosette window on the west end. The original bell tower was struck by lightning in 1910 and not rebuilt until 1978. It is now used as a Parish Hall.
On the 24th November 1909, a larger new blue stone church in a Gothic style was consecrated by Dr. Cambridge, Bishop of Bathurst. The people of Millthorpe raised 2,800 pounds for its construction. The architect was John Kenny and the builder was William Murray.
5. Cemetery and Lookout / John Lister’s Grave
The first burial in this Cemetery was a young girl in 1867. The cemetery contains the last resting place for many Millthorpe and district pioneering families and their descendants. Take time to wander around the many unique headstones and perhaps you might find one of your ancestors. A most interesting burial is John Lister, the co-discoverer of payable gold at Ophir. His headstone and grave can be found in the Anglican portion.
6. St Canice’s Church
The foundation stone for St Canice’s Church was laid in June 1903. This handsome brick Church was opened on the 12th June 1904 by Bishop Dunne. It was built at a cost of 603 pounds with funds from local donors. The walls are 356mm (14 inches) thick and the church seats 200 people.
7. Great Western Mill
The Mill was built in 1884 for the processing of flour and operated until 1962. The Great Western Milling Company was formed by local shareholders and became one of the biggest millers in the State employing many local people. This impressive mill building was demolished in 1974.
8. Millthorpe Uniting Church
The foundation stone for this Church was laid on the 11th April 1885. This simple Romanesque style Church was constructed of brick and laid in a Flemish bond on a bluestone base. The beautiful stained glass windows are a major feature of this building. It was officially opened on the 19th October 1885.
9. Old Baptist Church
The block of land purchased for the Baptist Church was formerly known as Billy Goat Hill, due to the many goats which roamed this area. This neatly constructed blue stone Church was built from locally quarried stone. The stonemason was William Murray and the Church was officially opened on the 4th March 1903 by the Rev Henry Clarke.